Greek Esoteric Music Theory

[Heptagram Emblem]

John Opsopaus

A collection of annotated and cross-linked charts to aid the use of Ancient Greek Music for esoteric purposes.

  1. Introduction.
  2. The Greater and Lesser Perfect Systems. An overview of all the harmonic relationships.
  3. The Four-String Lyre of Hermes. The Musical Tetractys, which is the basis of Pythagorean Harmonics.
  4. The Elemental Tetrachord. The fundamental structure from which Ancient Greek Harmony is constructed. Correspondences with the Elements, Qualities, Deities, etc.
  5. Elemental Sequences. All possible sequences of the Elemental Tetrachord categorized according to effect.
  6. The Zodiacal Trigons. The Zodiacal Trigons (Triplicities) correspond to the notes of the Tetrachord as part of the Immutable System.
  7. The Five Tetrachords. The Five Tetrachords of the Immutable System correspond to the Five Elements, Senses, etc.
  8. The Planetary Heptachord. The Heptachord and the Octave are constructed from two Tetrachords. Includes correspondences with Planets, Vowels, Days, etc.
  9. The Planetary Heptagram. Shows the relationships between the Planets, Days of the Week and Notes, as explained in The Planetary Heptachord.
  10. The Seven Harmoniai. Shows correspondences with the Seven Harmoniai (ancient modes) of Greek music, including Planets, Signs and Guardian Deities.
  11. The Eight Modes. Shows correspondences with the Eight Medieval Modes, including, Planets, Elements, Humors and their Effects.
  12. Meanings of Greek Names of Notes and Tetrachords.
  13. Sources.
Note: These pages make extensive use of tables, and won't make sense when viewed with browsers that don't support tables.
Return to Biblioteca Arcana page

Send comments about this page
Last updated: Sun May 9 23:42:47 EDT 1999